Emergency Management Advisory Group Minutes

December 12, 2024

Attendees

Please see pages 3 and 4.

Call to Order

The Emergency Management Advisory Group meeting met via Teams on December 12, 2024. The meeting began at 13:05 and was presided over by Scott Johnson, EMAG Chair. Amanda Webster, EMD, recorded the minutes.

Approval of Minutes

A motion to approve the October 10, 2024, meeting minutes was made by Brendan McCluskey and seconded by Scott McDougall. The motion carried.

Reports

Chandra Fox, Emergency Management Council Chair, shared a review of the EMC meeting.

- The Council discussed potential topics for the 2024 annual report and received volunteers for the EMC Strategic Planning Committee.
- Kirk Holmes was elected Chair for 2025-27.
- Amanda Herzfeld, City of Seattle, provided a presentation about unreinforced masonry buildings.

Sierra Wardell, EMD Financial Operations Section Manager, presented a preparedness grants update

Work Session

A motion to approve the 2025 meeting schedule was made by Chandra Fox and seconded by Hannah Cleverly.

The floor was opened for nominations for Chair-Elect. Scott Johnson nominated Scott McDougall, Director, Pacific County Emergency Management Agency. Final calls for nominations were made, and Scott McDougal is the Chair-Elect for 2026-2028.

Nominations were opened for EMC position #11 State and Local Emergency Management Directors. Scott Johnson nominated Deanna Davis, Emergency Management Manager, Benton County Emergency Services. Final calls for nominations were made, and Deanna Davis was elected to EMC position #11.

Open Public Forum

No remarks were made.

Closing Remarks

Closing remarks were presented by Robert Ezelle, EMD Director.

- Provided an update on the recovery work related to the Bomb Cyclone that affected King County, Snohomish County, and Whatcom County.
- Major Gent Welsh was re-appointed and will continue his position as TAG under the Ferguson administration.
- The SEOC will be activated for Inauguration Day, January 20, 2025, in support of local jurisdictions.
- Discussed the budget going into the new year. Currently there is a spending, hiring, and travel freeze. Emergency management is exempt from the hiring freeze.

Chandra Fox reminded attendees of the public hearing for the WAC 118-30 revision scheduled for January 23, 2025, at 0900.

Adjournment

Scott Johnson adjourned the meeting at 13:50.

EMAG Member Attendance

Position	Name	12-12-24
Eastside Counties		
Small County Tier 1	JoAnn Boggs (Pri)	Р
	Steve Bonner (Alt)	A
Small County Tier 2	Sandi Duffey (Pri)	Р
	Maurice Goodall (Alt)	A
Small County Tier 3	Adenea Sellars (Pri)	P
	Darren Higashiyama (Alt)	P
Medium County Pos 1	Deanna Davis (Pri)	Р
	Sean Davis (Alt)	P
Medium County Pos 2	Tony Miller (Pri)	A
	Vacant	-
Large County	Chandra Fox (Pri)	P
	Vacant	-
Westside Counties		<u> </u>
Small County Tier 1	Scott McDougall (Pri)	Р
	Brendan Cowan (Alt)	Р
Small County Tier 2	Hannah Cleverly (Pri)	Р
,	Willie Bence (Alt)	A
Medium County	Eric Brooks (Pri)	A
	Vacant	
Large County Pos 1	Lucia Schmidt (Pri)	A
	Vacant	-
Large County Pos 2	Jody Ferguson (Pri)	A
	Kyle Bustad (Alt)	P
Very Large County	Brendan McCluskey (Pri)	Р
	Alysha Kaplan (Alt)	A
Cities		
Small Cities	Anne LeSage (Pri)	A
	Mindi Mattson (Alt)	A
Medium Cities Pos 1	John Unfred (Pri)	A
	Heather Kelly (Alt)	Р
Medium Cities Pos 2	Lisa Figueroa (Pri)	Р
	Ryan Zavala (Alt)	Р
Large Cities	Curry Mayer (Pri)	Р
	Andrew Stevens	A
CONSORTIA		•
CRESA	Scott Johnson (Pri)	Р

NEMCo	Kevin Lowery (Alt)	Р
Tribes		
Tribe Pos 1	Cherrie May (Pri)	A
	Vacant	-
Tribe Pos 2	Ada McDaniel (Pri)	A
	Steve de los Angeles (Alt)	Р

EMAG Guest Attendance

Tammi Wright Amy Gillespie Nick Falley Nick Bacon

EMD

Robert Ezelle
Sharon Wallace
Alexa Bach
Anne-marie Marshall-Dody
Katie Spiekermann Sierra
Wardell
Amanda Webster Victoria
Fontana
Adam Wasserman Stacey
McClain
Casey Broom